GPA/GRE Scores - Can I still apply?

antioxidant17

Hey all!

I know there are probably a lot of these posts already, but I still want to ask. I'm planning on applying to PhD programs next year that are strong for qualitative methods/ethnography. I graduated last spring from a small liberal arts college that's pretty rigorous, and I just didn't get it together in time to apply this past year.

I've been really nervous about applying because of how I read on paper. I'm pretty confident that my letters of recommendation will be strong, as well as my writing sample(s), and hopefully after several drafts my statement of purpose will be as well, at least in terms of the writing (I'm between two different research ideas that I'll present in the statement). The downsides are that I don't have much research experience because my school was so small, my GRE scores aren't great (163 verbal, 148 quant - actually kind of proud of the quant since it's higher than I ever got in practice), and sadly I only have a 3.63 GPA. I'm worried about the GPA right now because I was looking at UCLA's website and they ask you to report your GPA for the last two years of your work. I mostly got As during that time in my main courses, but I was also taking French and Spanish for those years and I got a lot of Bs in those classes because I had read that grad school didn't really care about your grades in those classes. I demonstrated my proficiency in the languages during the final oral exam and thought that was fine. I was also going through a lot in my final quarter of college (i.e. was depressed, financially strained, and exhausted from doing college).  So I calculated the GPA for the last two years and it was like a 3.3 or something! Now I'm really stressed because I don't think that reflects on the overall quality of what I did in college.