Schools for "average" applicants?

Hello,

I'm an undergrad linguistics major and senior at a university in Florida. I will graduate with a 3.6 GPA and all pre-reqs completed despite being an out of field applicant (my school doesn't have a CSD major but does offer the pre-reqs as electives). I have a decent amount of hours observing SLP's in a private practice and in a hospital, with one of the SLP's promising to write me a glowing LOR. I also haven't taken the GRE (gasp!) but have started to hit magoosh pretty hard and will take it soon. 

I was betting on graduating in the 3.8 range, but life happens (neuroanatomy and any course that has anything to do with math) and I'm sorta freaking out now, seeing as even the 3.8's and 3.9's on this forum have anxiety about not getting in. It's my understanding that Florida is a bit of a hotbed at the moment, so I'm willing to relocate just about anywhere in the US, even though in state tuition sure sounds lovely. 

Does anyone have any suggestions for schools to apply to that don't exclusively accept the student with a 3.9 GPA, an LOR from Obama, and 12 years of experience working as an SLPA? 

Also, bonus question/conspiracy theory: I currently have a 3.56. I want to apply with a 3.60 (which I'll have by the end of the next 2 semesters). If I want grad schools to see that 3.60, should I take a semester off before applying? Also feel free to share your favorite drink recipes too because I need one after this. 

In my experience, you will not have a problem. You'll likely be waitlisted initially and it'll be stressful and horrible, but our stats are similar and I got into state schools. (I honestly didn't even try for any 'prestigious' schools, and only applied to two private schools because of the cost of tutition. I knew my grades weren't going to secure me a GA and I couldn't afford the tutition without it.)