Best places to apply?

antoninus83

I'm currently trying to decided where to apply, having to balance best programs with long-term livability of the area (my wife's focus). I graduated this year from the University of Colorado Colorado Springs with a 3.9. My period of interest is Late Antiquity/Early Medieval. I have had papers published in UC Denver’s Historical Studies Journal and  Hortulus: The Online Graduate Journal of Medieval Studies. I took German in undergrad, but have not yet taken Latin or any other classical language. I'd like feedback upon the following list of school best match up with these qualifications and goals. Can some be add or others taken off.

Uni. Of Chicago
Duke University
Uni. Of Washington
Princeton
Uni. Of Virginia
Uni. Of North Carolina
Northwestern
Uni. Of New Mexico
Norte Dame
Uni. Of Texas at Austin
Uni. of Arizona
Uni. of Minnesota

Reach out to professors at the schools that you listed. They’ll be your best resource. We also don’t know your specific research interests, do it would be impossible to tell you.

If I were you I would plan on starting to learn a classical language, especially Latin. My faculty mentor is a medieval/early modernist and when I considered doing medieval history, he told me that schools- especially good ones -would rather have someone with Latin training then someone without. 

Just to echo what @telkanuru and @historygeek have said so far, you probably need Latin. You might want to consider a MA first, preferably one with some financial support.

I would also add that, given the state of the job market, if you're lucky enough to get a TT position, chances are it's not going to be somewhere particularly livable. Many of the available jobs are at R2/R3 universities in small towns (e.g. Kingsville, TX). You have some control over where you go to graduate school, which can mean not going. You have almost no control over where you end up, all one can do is give him/herself the best chance.

Edited by psstein