How much can I save from my PhD stipend?

Auro

Question

I am in my second year of Masters and I am contemplating about applying for a PhD program next year. I am not sure about how much stipend I could get since it would vary in each university. But I want to calculate how much I would be able to save (to pay off my study loan). Again, I know it would depend on the number of months I am getting the stipend for and the living expenses according to the location of the university. 

I am currently in TU Delft and I know what my expenses are and the (possible) stipend I could get as a PhD candidate. I want a general estimate according to the experience of other PhD students in other universities.

3 answers to this question

I think you're going to have a hard time finding the answer you're looking for because there is no standard saving amount. There are a few factors that impact this:

-Your stipend (which may or may not be the same as everyone else's in your cohort. Sometimes, people do bring in outside funding which increases their total funding. Sometimes, the university adjusts their funding if you have outside funding. Some limit it to a certain amount.)
-Cost of rent: Some people have no problem living with others to cut costs. Sometimes, you have no choice to share a house or apartment to be able to live on the stipend. Some people prefer living on their own and will invest to ensure that they don't have roommates. Having a pet or a family complicates things even more. Sometimes, there are two people earning an income; sometimes just one. Someone might pay $700 or so for rent while another person will pay $1300 to live in a more desired location with easier access to attractions or the university or for more space.
-Cost of food: Nobody in a single cohort will eat the same thing. Some prefer investing money in organic food or eating locally. Some people might only have access to one grocery store.