Don't like Cohort + Anxiety

southcat

Hi everyone!

First time poster because I was so mad I just typed in something to Google and found a similar thread. So now I'm going to post mine. I liked reading the opinions of people who are also in grad school about these things. 

I'm posting because I really don't like my cohort. I'm in my first semester of a Master's program for Counseling. I love the area and the school, but I really can't stand a number of my classmates and some of them are in all of my classes.

One girl talks about herself all the time (a trait I'm trying to learn how to deal with. I'm in a counseling program, so I feel like sometimes the answer could be "you wanna be a therapist? you gotta get used to not liking people." which is true. But we're all full of imperfect human emotion and this is one of them.). Even my professors have begun to notice it. But there's about a quarter of the people who love this girl. Then there's another group who are the "judge-y intellectuals". They always pop in during discussion to assert their stance on the subject and are always laughing about things that no one else knows about. I went through all of undergrad facing people such as this. I know how to deal with people and I'm a pretty laid back person who tolerates most personalities. I don't know if it's this particular group of people or what, but I can't stand them.

I have made a few friends so that's helped. But just tonight, I got an email from a professor about a presentation I did recently. It was her feedback. But she also included ALL of the comments that my classmates made on their grading sheets. Some were nice. One in particular has me steaming, though, that said that I clearly didn't do as much as my partner for the presentation (which simply isn't true at all) and others said it didn't seem like we knew the material. I just don't understand it. I'm still steaming about it and will probably have a clearer outlook on it tomorrow.