Advisor overestimates my ability to conduct research

Hello,

Ive known my advisor for like 5 years and I get this feeling that she trusts me too much in the research process. I'm pretty much on my own, doing things without being sure that I'm doing them right...it's the first time that I am doing a research project and I don't know how to tell her that I actually need more guidance than what she currently offers me because she trusts me. I know it's a weird issue, but I need supervision, I'm new to the research process...I think it's because I was a A student in undergrad (where she met me) but things are different at the graduate level and I need help and don't know how to tell her.

Edited by Adelaide9216

6 hours ago, Adelaide9216 said:

Hello,

Ive known my advisor for like 5 years and I get this feeling that she trusts me too much in the research process. I'm pretty much on my own, doing things without being sure that I'm doing them right...it's the first time that I am doing a research project and I don't know how to tell her that I actually need more guidance than what she currently offers me because she trusts me. I know it's a weird issue, but I need supervision, I'm new to the research process...I think it's because I was a A student in undergrad (where she met me) but things are different at the graduate level and I need help and don't know how to tell her.

Prepare two agendas for a brief check-in meeting (no more than 30 minutes). The first agenda could provide a broad brush outline of the questions/topics you'd like to discuss in the meeting as a handful of bullet points. The second agenda, which you'll keep to yourself at first, develops each of the bullet points into summary/talking points/questions.