Chances of getting into a PhD program?

Winnie5294

Question

Hi all,

I’m a current grad student going to school for my masters in school counseling. I majored in psychology in undergrad but for a while wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. My undergrad GPA wasnt great (3.1). I’m on track to do well in my masters program (4.0 so far), but I also just started my program this past semester. 

I don’t have a lot of research experience aside from some typical undergrad research. I recently asked my current academic advisor how I can make myself a stronger PhD applicant (and if it’s realistic for me) so we will be meeting in the future to discuss. Part of my unpreparedness is the fact that I wasn’t sure if I definitely wanted to go this route until recently. It has always been in my mind but after starting my Master’s program, I realized this is something I definitely want to do. 

I live in Boston so I’d hope to apply to some of the schools around here (BU/Northeastern/UMB/Lesley) but open to applying elsewhere. I’m interested in developmental psychology/school psychology. However, will my GPA in my current program be enough to outweigh my undergrad GPA? What about research experience? I’m trying to find out how I can get more experience here. I did average on the GRE and would definitely retake them. 

I know no one can give me definite answers here but hoping some people can speak from experience!

Edited by Winnie5294
Added tags

3 answers to this question

A PhD is a research degree, so the most important thing you can do is get a lot of research experience, including products (posters and maybe publications if you have the chance). If you do well in your master's program, that can mediate your poor undergrad GPA as it shows you can handle graduate level coursework.