US government jobs for international students - viability?

• 2 weeks later...

Depends on what specific policy related stuff you want.

For some things they only want permanent residents or US nationals - but it relaly depends on your sector and the info you'd be dealing with.

What country are you in?

As a side note: I work in policy myself and I have since 2015. I would not recommend doing policy work in the USA necessarily-- their immigration status challenges, paired with a generally anti-government context, mean getting and especially keeping work is very difficult. In Canada we have a much more robust public servant culture, as does the UK. I have worked alongside foreign nationals in various policy roles, including public treasury policy, infrastructure, and health.

(If you're a Commonwealth citizen, it's somewhat easier to get work in the UK than a non-Commonwealth immigrant worker.) 

On 1/22/2019 at 8:11 PM, solmate95 said:

Hi, I'm an international student with an interest in policy.

My end goal is to become a consultant for government policy, and I was wondering whether looking into internships in US government entities is reasonable or a waste of my time.

Could anyone help me on this?

I recommend that you explore opportunities at private think tanks. 

• 3 weeks later...