UVM SLP Program

Hello hello!

I am hoping to get some advice from anyone who has been to/is currently attending the MSc program at the University of Vermont for SLP. I just got my acceptance letter from them on Feb 5th (WAHOO!) and am wondering if anyone can provide insight about the campus, program, state of Vermont, etc.

I'm originally from the West Coast of Canada so this would be a pretty big move for me if I decide to accept the offer (still waiting to hear back from all of the other schools I have applied to, but this is definitely my top choice for American schools I think).

Thanks in advance :)

Hi and congratulations! I'm in my second semester at UVM and enjoying it (aside from the absurd amount of work I have to do in the next couple weeks!). That would be a really big move, but there might not be as much culture shock as you'd expect. Vermont is close to Canada and has kind of a bond with it. For instance, poutine is in, like, every Burlington restaurant! It's a small, rural state but Burlington is big enough to have a bunch of good restaurants, an arts/music scene, festivals and other cool things. If you're into skiing there are several ski areas within an hour's drive. Vermont in general and Burlington in particular is very politically liberal, if that's important to you. Let's see, what else... the winters are COLD and long, so invest in a quality coat and boots. Summers are kinda short but really nice, comfortably warm without being scorching.