PhD funding

greenfrogs

Hi everyone! I'm basically a noob when it comes to this whole process, so forgive me if this is a dumb question. I'm applying for PhDs for the 2020-2021 year, US schools. I'm certainly drawn to the PhD programs for their academic rigor, but the main thing that drove me away from the masters is a lack of funding. I was basically under the impression that the all PhDs are fully funded without having to apply for for anything additional. I'm talking about tuition, not necessarily travel or research costs. Funding you apply for is for these additional costs, or general living costs, as far as I know. I definitely cannot afford to pay for any years of the PhD program out of pocket, so I just wanted to confirm this before diving neck deep into the application process. 

If you're someone who's successfully gone through the process before, I'd love to message with you about your general thoughts as well. Every person in the field I've talked to seems to give different answers to my questions.

3 minutes ago, greenfrogs said:

I was basically under the impression that the all PhDs are fully funded without having to apply for for anything additional. I'm talking about tuition, not necessarily travel or research costs.

Different programs do different things, but I will say this: academics can only be rigorous if they're funded, and a dumb student with lots of financial support will almost certainly write a better dissertation than a smart student with no support. If a program does not offer a livable stipend, cover tuition, provide affordable health care, and provide access to pots of money for travel and research, it is not worth applying to, never mind attending. 

My process was to identify the professors with whom I wished to work, and then to narrow down the list by excluding programs that offered insufficient resources. Aim for a final list of 4-6.