Applying for my PhD before my Master's is finished?

HI everyone, 

It's been hard for me to find an exact answer to this problem, and even schools have been having a hard time getting back to me.  I just graduated with my Bachelor's in English, and will be starting my Masters in the fall.  I have the option to finish my Masters in one year, but then I ended up getting curious about how this would work with applying to PhD programs.  There's two schools on my list that look like their deadlines are in early Jan, so worst comes to worst I could always apply after fall grades are entered (which for my university is always mid December).  But there's another school on my list that has their deadline right when fall semester grades will be posted.  So I'm not sure how it will look to just submit my application with no fall semester grades.

My undergrad gpa is low (3.3) but I was a student that didn't know what I wanted to do until I was a junior.  I always did super well in my English courses, but I spent some time studying engineering, so that has brought my gpa low.  My major gpa is of course a lot higher.  So that's why I'm hesitate to just submit an application using only my undergrad work/transcript.

Also, instead of making a second thread, I thought I might just ask here.  Does anyone know how strict literature PhD programs are regarding qualifications?  My Bachelor's concentration is in Writing, Rhetoric, and Communication while my Master's is in Professional Writing.  I emailed a school the other day and got kind of snarky email back where they just bolded "MA in English required".  Of course I knew that, but my MA isn't in literature.  I didn't want to go through the whole process and pay money just to be automatically DQ because of not having a lit background (despite taking lit classes undergrad).

I've lurked on this thread for a while, so hopefully I could get some help :)