Highly Recommended Euro History Books

poliecon

I have not yet started applying for MA programs, but I would like to know if anyone can recommend books relating to Medieval or Early Modern Europe that they have read that really impressed them.

It has been a bit since I graduated, so my coursework probably hasn't covered the last bit of scholarship.

Basically looking for any leads as I am still looking to narrow down time period and region.  I will be reviewing old syllabi and doing searches online and in footnotes, but always interested in other perspectives.

Thanks in advance.

Edited by poliecon

I don't have any specific book recommendations, more of an overall recommendation -- find something published relatively recently that you're interested, read it, and then comb through the bibliography to see what works and authors that author is engaging with. I find tons of great recommendations that way.

E. Natalie Rothman, Brokering Empire: Trans-Imperial Subjects between Venice and Istanbul (Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2012).

David A. Frick, Kith, Kin, and Neighbors : Communities and Confessions in Seventeenth-Century Wilno (Ithaca: Cornell University Press, 2013).

Michael Dietler, Archaeologies of Colonialism: Consumption, Entanglement, and Violence in Ancient Mediterranean France (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2010).

Geraldine Heng, The Invention of Race in the European Middle Ages, 2018.

Roni Ellenblum, Crusader Castles and Modern Histories (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2007).

Gillian Lee Weiss, Captives and Corsairs: France and Slavery in the Early Modern Mediterranean (Stanford: Stanford University Press, 2011).

Joyce E. Chaplin, Subject Matter : Technology, the Body, and Science on the Anglo-American Frontier, 1500-1676 (Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 2001).

Martin Gravel, Distances, rencontres, communications: réaliser l’empire sous Charlemagne et Louis le Pieux, 2012.