Getting weird vibe after starting program

cicero28

Hello. For Background I am a humanities PhD student at a fairly small program (5-8 new students each cohort). I am coming straight from my undergrad in the midwest. My new institution is an ivy league uni.

I've felt quite odd after starting my program. I moved here a month ago, and have been getting to know my cohort and the rest of the department. I'm getting a vaguely cold-shouldery vibe from a lot of people, like I'm getting excluded. Most people are "nice but not friendly" if that makes sense. Everyone in my cohort seems to like each other more than me. I'm a quite extroverted person, and have never had issue making friends or getting to know people, and I've made a lot of efforts to get to know people in the last 30 days but I still feel out of place. This is not imposter syndrome, I have no doubts about my qualifications or ability to succeed in grad school, but I feel like i don't "fit in". I'm also not yet identified anyone in the dept. to whom I would be comfortable conveying this info. Most of my good interactions have been with people outside my department at other graduate school social events.

Has anyone experienced something similar and have any advice? I think a part of it, or maybe much of it, could just be in my head, a psychological side effect of such a huge shift in my life (my first time out of the country). But its making me feel a bit jaded and worried I'll have to navigate this weird, kafkaesque social situation for years to come.