Concurrently taking & TAing a course

NEHiker17

I'm a first year graduate student and am taking a class with a mix of upper level undergraduates and grad students.  The TA is also a first year grad student and is taking the class at the same time (as a regular student, for a grade...the only difference is that she's supposed to turn in her homework two days early).  Last year, the professor also had a TA that was taking the class at the same time.  Several person know she's the TA, and she openly talks about grading with us.  However, the professor has never openly said who the TA is and just talks about "the graders" in class without saying who the other person is he's talking about.  It's so awkward, and we can't go to the TA for advice or questions because it's a hard class that she's struggling with herself, and the professor apparently wants it to be a secret.  This makes me think he realizes it doesn't really make sense.  I'm friends with his previous TA, and she thinks the situation is completely inappropriate.  I don't know how much experience the current TA has in the subject matter, but I know she struggles just as much as the other students and I don't know why she would be taking it if she already knew the material.  Are TAs normally not allowed to take a course that they're currently TAing?  I can't find policies on this at my school and wish I had asked at the beginning of the semester instead of deciding to speak up now.