Working Full Time & Trying to Obtain Research Experience ?

amazoniangoddess

Hi All! 

So I am a online master's student at Arizona State University for my MS in psychology. I would love to move on to get my phD or psyD, however, I have ZERO research experience under my belt. I know that in order to even be considered for such a program, I need to obtain research experience for a year or two. The issue I have at hand is I also work full-time. I work a solid 8-5, M-F. The good news is that there's a university right across the street from my job, I'm just wary of any professors willing to take on a volunteer master student from another university with such limited availability. 

Also quitting my job is not a choice. I have way too many expenses I pay for living in San Diego, California. 

If anyone has any tips or suggestions and has gone through a similar situation as myself, please let me know. 

Thanks! 

9 minutes ago, amazoniangoddess said:

Hi All! 

So I am a online master's student at Arizona State University for my MS in psychology. I would love to move on to get my phD or psyD, however, I have ZERO research experience under my belt. I know that in order to even be considered for such a program, I need to obtain research experience for a year or two. The issue I have at hand is I also work full-time. I work a solid 8-5, M-F. The good news is that there's a university right across the street from my job, I'm just wary of any professors willing to take on a volunteer master student from another university with such limited availability. 

Also quitting my job is not a choice. I have way too many expenses I pay for living in San Diego, California. 

If anyone has any tips or suggestions and has gone through a similar situation as myself, please let me know. 

Thanks!