Quitting PhD to be with significant other?

Mana4989

Hello, I am a 2nd year female PhD candidate in STEM major. As written in the title, I’m lost in my situation, so I wanted to hear opinions to make decisions.

I am an international student. I took master’s in my country then joined in the PhD program in the US. My significant other has worked as a postdoc in US for 2.5 years, and from this April he will go back to our country as an assistant professor. We have been in the relationship for 4 years including 2.5 years long-distance relationships.  Because both of us are almost 30’s and he decided to go back to our country, he asked if we could live together and marry. But he said he would wait for more years if I want PhD.

I love him and wanted to live together. I will feel bad if I make him wait for at least 3 more years. At the same time, I like my research, advisor, lab mates, and department. I will be here if I’m alone. However, one of the reasons I came to the US was because I and my significant other wanted to get jobs in the US in the future. Now the situation has changed. PhD is no longer necessary if we go back to our country. If I get PhD, It will make me happy but will not influence salaries or kinds of jobs at all in my country. So I know quitting PhD will be reasonable for me. 
I paid so much effort for application, qualification exam, and course works. My childish dream was being called as “Dr.” as same as my father. These emotional things  prevent me to decide.

I feel like crying whenever I think about this situation. I would appreciate any opinions to my situation.

Thanks!

How close are you to finishing? I know there's no guarantees for how long a dissertation may take. It sounds like you've put a lot of hard work into this PhD already. Will you be ok with just walking away from that? Do you feel you may resent your partner in the future because you gave up your dream for him? 

3 hours ago, PsyDuck90 said: