Recovering from multiple rejections and preparing for Fall 2021 :|

Rerun

Question

Hi everyone,

This is a painful share but I want to believe that I am (not) alone. I am an International student, M.A. Community Psychology and Social Change in the US. GPA 3.95. My GRE score is very low, between 141-144. It was even 139 on my last test in 2019 and writing 3.0-3.5. I was a lecturer in Psychology for 2 years, teaching various classes for undergrad. I have published in a national journal in my country twice, and waiting for 3 more publication from a conference proceeding this year (International Conference held in my country). My research experience so far are mental health service in primary health care (undergraduate), refugee wellbeing (master), both are qualitative. Others are youth peer health program (I developed an intervention in a rural area, 1 year work experience as health advocate), mental health literacy and culture ( I led the systematic review) and ptsd in conflict affected area (I led the research and received a small grant).

In 2018 and 2019 I applied for a Fulbright scholarship in my country and got rejected. I was really sad but try to bounce back and apply for a PhD directly to the school. 2018: Social Intervention NYU, Applied Psych and Prevention Science UMass Lowell, Social Work Boston College, Clinical Psych UMass Boston. 2019: Counseling Psych Northeastern Uni and Sociology Boston Uni. All Rejected (Haven't heard from BU but I saw people getting accepted in the result section.. so yeah). All are in Boston area because my husband is studying here.