Princeton?!

Fellow Princeton (English) admits, I have so many questions. First, when I was considering applying last fall, a grad student in the department told me they offer six years of funding, not five. My fellowship offer though is for five years. Is that sixth year in play at all? Or am I just misremembering what she said? Perhaps it's more like the sixth year is available should one need it, but simply not guaranteed as part of the written offer? Wondering if any of you have insight on this. Second, does anyone know anything about the Centennial Fellowship at Princeton? It's been offered to me, and I'm so pleased, but I'm also curious about it since I have been given very little context (other than the financial details). Anyone know anything about it?

Edited by Rani13

Congrats on your acceptance! I'm a current grad student at Princeton. Princeton only guarantees five years of funding, but there are many funding opportunities for year 6 and beyond. Info on the Centennial Fellowship can be found here https://gradschool.princeton.edu/costs-funding/definitions Fellowships given outside of the English Dept. typically mean more money added to your base stipend. 

1 minute ago, meghan_sparkle said:

I got this in an email: "Monday, March 30, 2020-Wednesday, April 1, 2020". AAAAGGGGH CONFLICTS WITH HARVARD.

You'd think that they would make sure to avoid a Princeton/Harvard overlap! Or for that matter, Harvard/Yale, Princeton/Yale, Harvard/Chicago... 

6 minutes ago, caffeinated applicant said:

You'd think that they would make sure to avoid a Princeton/Harvard overlap! Or for that matter, Harvard/Yale, Princeton/Yale, Harvard/Chicago...