Funding for Master's?

apsocpsy2020

Hi all,

This was my second application process (with better GRE scores + 2+ years of research ex + Master's + 1 first author publication and 4 under review). Despite this I didn't get into a PhD program. I think my Master's grades had to do with it. 

Got notified about an acceptance to NYU for a Master's. I was hoping I'd get in there for PhD, but that did not happen. 

They do not provide any funding. Is there any way to get scholarships/funding? I definitely cannot afford to pay/take out a loan, unfortunately. (note: I'm an international student from a developing country).

I also don't think that for at least 5-6 years, I won't be able to apply again (by that time I'd have to somehow figure out a way to stay financially afloat, lol)

Any other advice?

23 hours ago, apsocpsy2020 said:

Hi all,

This was my second application process (with better GRE scores + 2+ years of research ex + Master's + 1 first author publication and 4 under review). Despite this I didn't get into a PhD program. I think my Master's grades had to do with it. 

Got notified about an acceptance to NYU for a Master's. I was hoping I'd get in there for PhD, but that did not happen. 

They do not provide any funding. Is there any way to get scholarships/funding? I definitely cannot afford to pay/take out a loan, unfortunately. (note: I'm an international student from a developing country).

I also don't think that for at least 5-6 years, I won't be able to apply again (by that time I'd have to somehow figure out a way to stay financially afloat, lol)

Any other advice?

Hi,

Unless the Masters degree you have is in something not related to Psychology. I would suggest holding off on getting another Masters degree. 

Thanks for the replies.