UCLA vs. Berkeley for undergrad. How much more weight does Cal have over UCLA in masters/PhD admissions?

Hi all,

I am a transfer student who just got admitted into UCLA and UC Berkeley for a political science BA. Im gravitating towards UCLA because of the less depressed atmosphere and general campus life, but I know that Cal is ranked higher in political science (USNWR has Cal at #4 and UCLA at #12). If I’m applying to a top tier masters or PhD program and I get a lot of undergrad research experience no matter where I go, will admissions favor the Berkeley candidate THAT much more than the UCLA one?

2 minutes ago, JamesPratt said:

Hi all,

I am a transfer student who just got admitted into UCLA and UC Berkeley for a political science BA. Im gravitating towards UCLA because of the less depressed atmosphere and general campus life, but I know that Cal is ranked higher in political science (USNWR has Cal at #4 and UCLA at #12). If I’m applying to a top tier masters or PhD program and I get a lot of undergrad research experience no matter where I go, will admissions favor the Berkeley candidate THAT much more than the UCLA one?

To be honest, it really doesn't make much of a difference. (And I have a master's from Yale.)

16 minutes ago, SocialKonstruct said:

To be honest, it really doesn't make much of a difference. (And I have a master's from Yale.)

In terms of general prestige, the gap is minimal, but Cal is significantly more prestigious in poli sci. Sadly, I don’t think I’d get a good letter of rec from renowned faculty at either school since most undergrad research at both schools is working for other PhD students. I’ll probably do masters before PhD, but you’re leaning towards the difference not mattering for getting into a masters program at Yale or a similar school?

11 hours ago, JamesPratt said:

Hi all,