Where to Publish for the First Time + Book Reviews?

Hey Everyone,

I am new to this academic game and publishing. I am currently a Master's student and I would like to get something published (Ideally, just a book review). 

However, I do not know where to start? Or how to get accepted because I currently have zero publications.

Is this fine? Do I still submit my papers? Furthermore, I am interested in writing book reviews for a few publications, but once again, I don't have any real writing out there as of yet. 

How do I get started and what is the proper etiquette for reaching out to write book reviews (do I need to have a writing sample on hand?)? 

(Apologies for the 20 questions, I would appreciate any feedback or insight!) 

Edited by fossati

• 2 weeks later...

Hi, I have a paper related to political psychology and communication, but it has 170 pages (single-spaced and TNR 12). Do you have recommendations on where I should submit it? A program at UT of Austin requires the submission of research papers, and I hope it gets published before submission.

Edited by Dann

7 hours ago, Dann said:

Hi, I have a paper related to political psychology and communication, but it has 170 pages (single-spaced and TNR 12). Do you have recommendations on where I should submit it? A program at UT of Austin requires the submission of research papers, and I hope it gets published before submission.

Journals will not publish 170 pages. You will need to cut it down to about 25-30 max with references and tables/figures. 

12 hours ago, PsyDuck90 said:

Journals will not publish 170 pages. You will need to cut it down to about 25-30 max with references and tables/figures. 

Hi! Thank you for answering me. I know... I wanted it to be a book, I have seen a whole thesis published by Routledge, but I do not think a publishing house like that would notice me. I am just in a university in SEA.