Low GPA for SLP Master Program

katchula

Question

Hello everyone! So I'm currently completing my pre requisite courses to gain entrance into a SLP masters programs in my state. I graduated with a 2.57 GPA and it seems as though so far its all 3.0 GPA cut off. I'm completing 11 courses from USU that will transfer to these programs. So far I've gotten B+, while working full time and taking care of family during these moments. I wanted to write this and hear from others out there who have been in similar situations and what you decided to do. I am willing to put in the work to reach the criteria but is it a realistic goal for me to have? Did it work out for anyone out there?

I am committed to becoming an SLP but I am also realistic.

Thanks guys,

4 answers to this question

My undergrad GPA was a 3.0 only because I switched from bio to psych and took up a minor. I was afraid my post bacc GPA (3.4) wouldn’t be enough to get me into colleges and it was. Why? One of the professors who did my admissions interview said that they saw growth from my bio days to my CSD days and could tell I had found my passion because I had consistently been doing better. I applied to schools who wanted higher undergrad GPAs too and got in. I’d say keep pushing through and working on those speech courses. When applying to schools search broadly and know you can get in. I got into programs I though I wouldn’t and rejected from those I knew I’d get into. 

4 hours ago, SLPending said:

@Cece93 Which schools did you apply to, if you don't mind sharing?