Preparing phd application in the next few years

d1389jjch

Hi all!

I'm an undergraduate History student at a Canadian University going to my fourth year. I want to go to the top 10 phd programs in the World(or, in the US), focusing on modern Chinese History. I understand it is extremely competitive, and I'm not a super-smart student. But my parents would support me for the next 3-5 years to just prepare for the phd application. They would pay tuitions of any unfunded MA program, my living expenses, and research travels(I'm really really lucky). I'm looking for advice on how to using the money and time wisely. 

I currently have a 3.0 gpa for the first two years(due to languave diffcuties, I'm not a native speaker), 3.8 in my third year, and expected 3.8 in my final year. I think my first step is to go to a MA program, either funded or unfunded. My current list includes Yale(History), Uchicago(both MAPH and MAPSS), UBC(History), U of T(both History and East Asian Studies), and NYU(History). If I'm refused by all, I will apply for some German Universities since their deadline is much later than North America. 

After finish my MA in 1-2 years, I think my next step is to learn one or two new languages. I'm a Chinese native speaker, so I will need to learn Japanese, and probably one European language. While learning the language, I will try to go to several conferences, and see if I could publish one or two articles. By the time of application, I wish I could read two or three foreign languages(including Chinese), have one or two articles published, and two or three conferences.