2020 Fall Stat/Bio-stat PhD Profile Evaluation - Non Traditional Applicant

warmest

Hello everyone,

I am planning to apply for PhD programs in Statistics and/or Biostatistics. I am seeking advice about the programs I should target. I would like advice based on my background below. Thank you a lot for your time! 

A quick summary about me - I have undergraduate degree in environmental science and master’s degree in applied stat. I graduated in 2019 and have one-year work experience. I attach my questions at the end.

Type of Student: International, Asian

Undergraduate Institution: Asian, top-50 by US news ranking  

Majors: Environmental Science 

GPA: 3.46/4.0 by WES (84/100) 

Courses taken (score by WES):

• CS
    • Intro to Computation (A)
    • Data Structure and Algorithm (B) 
  • Math
    • 2 calculus courses (A and B)
    • Linear Algebra (A)
    • Probability Theory and Statistics (A)
  • Stat
    • Applied Statistics (B) 

Graduate Institution: Master’s degree, top-20 by US news ranking in stats major 

Majors: Applied Statistics (courses only, no thesis), dual degree in environmental science

GPA: 3.6/4.0

• Stat 400-level
    • Intro to Theoretical Stat (B+)
    • Applied Probability (B) 
  • Stat 500-level
    • Stat Learning I (A-)
    • Stat Learning II (A-)
    • Stat Inference (A)
    • Stat Consulting (A-)
    • Probability Distribution Theory (A-)
    • Stat Inference (A) 
  • Stat 600-level
    • Linear Models (B+)
    • Survival Time Analysis (A)
    • Stat Computing (A-) 

GRE General Test: Q: 170 (96%); V: 152 (56%), W: 3.5 (41%) 

Research Experience

• Second author of a paper that is under peer review now. I did plenty of map visualization on the topic of air pollution. No modern stats method applied. (*big name prof. in biostatistics, not sure how the rec would be)
  • One presentation at the School Symposium about a minor project, using spatial statistics method to answer an environmental question.