CLINICAL QUESTION: Using assessments in clinical work.

Psyche007

Has anyone been directed to use specific assessments during their clinical work, in practica, internship, or otherwise?

I'm not concerned with concentrations like neuropsychology or forensics, but general clinical work. I was discussing the clinical competency exam with my supervisor asked her if assessments were required. She said that many students use them because they're simple and easy, but you don't have to, as long as you can justify their exclusion.

I'm just curious. Anyone have any thoughts?

My master's program emphasized using assessments as a way to track progress over time for clients, and I personally think they are useful not just for the therapist for the client as well. I'm a study therapist in a research study right now, so not pure clinical, but we use assessments throughout their time in treatment and beyond to see if the treatment was effective for certain symptoms. 

I think if you are addressing a very specific problem that is associated with very specific symptoms, using assessments is an evidence-based way to track progress. I personally can't imagine engaging in therapy without tracking something, though that was my specific training/experience as a graduate student. 

I think another important note is that while standardized assessments are preferred, if there isn't a specific assessment that tracks what you need it's simple to create a brief assessment of your own. 

Not sure if that is helpful or addressing your question! 

The sites I’ve trained at generally used measures like the BDI and BAI for tracking progress throughout therapy for most clients. It’s useful for us as therapists, and a lot of my clients have found it very helpful because they can see the reduction in symptoms in a way that is much more concrete. I remember one of my clients being very excited when she realized she was responding “0” to symptoms for the first time and it was a big moment for her