Advice for prospective Clinical psychology PsyD student

Psyched345

Hi everyone,

I'm currently in undergrad, so this is my first time applying to grad school and the process is a bit overwhelming. I was wondering if anyone knew of Clinical Psychology PsyD programs that are well or fully funded? Also, besides faculty/mentor match, what other important factors should I consider when choosing schools to apply. At the moment, I'm choosing based on the cost of living in the area and faculty match. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks in advance and good luck to everyone applying!

35 minutes ago, Psyched345 said:

Hi everyone,

I'm currently in undergrad, so this is my first time applying to grad school and the process is a bit overwhelming. I was wondering if anyone knew of Clinical Psychology PsyD programs that are well or fully funded? Also, besides faculty/mentor match, what other important factors should I consider when choosing schools to apply. At the moment, I'm choosing based on the cost of living in the area and faculty match. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks in advance and good luck to everyone applying!

Tbh, not a lot of Psy.D places are funded. There are chances to get funding through clinical practicum though! :) You should also consider why the Psy.D and not maters in clinical psych, MFT, or Ph.D. Really think about *why* you want to pursue the Psy.D and what outcomes you want post graduation. 

I'm currently a second year clinical psych student. Feel free to message me if you have more questions! 

As the previous poster said, PsyD programs typically have less funding than PhD programs. However, several programs that are housed within traditional universities such as Rutgers and Baylor provide some form of funding.