What would be considered quality research experience when applying to a Clinical Psych Ph.D.?

I have 3 years of research experience. I have presented a poster that I was first author on at two conferences; however, that was only a proposal. I presented as a first author at my school's research day on data from the lab I was working in as undergrad. My name is another poster that is about to be presented by that lab, but I won't be attending the conference. Currently, I am in a Masters of Clinical Psych program and I am in a research lab. I am helping write a chapter in a clinical psychology handbook. I am on a research project but I won't be first author. I am looking to apply to Ph.D programs this coming fall. I have no other first author publications, posters and I am not working on my own project currently. Do I have enough quality research experience to be a competitive applicant?  Should I ask for more work in my current lab or should I find another lab that could support me on my own project? 

3 Years of research experience is good, especially with your experience writing a chapter and working in different labs seems like you will have a good amount of experience. Make sure you are putting the second poster your name is on in your CV- just because you won't be there to physically present at that conference doesn't mean you shouldn't put it on your CV if you worked on that poster. Maybe try to get another first author poster submitted by the time you apply and maybe start working on a manuscript from someone else's data. 

22 hours ago, SocDevMum said:

Are you not writing a Masters thesis? These are usually first-author pubs or posters, and really cement your research abilities.