mstaylor

I have always wanted to go into education policy/the government side of education. I have bachelor degrees in both Elementary Education and History. I know I want a degree in Education Policy to move forwards in working as an analyst or a lobbyist. I'm currently a full-time teacher and am trying to decide which will be the best professional route for me: Ed.D. or a Ph.D. Any advice, personal experience, information is greatly appreciated!

Generally, an EdD is for professionals (administrators, principals, directors, etc.) who want a terminal credential but not a research career. A PhD is a research degree for people with research backgrounds who want a research career.

A lot of people also get involved in ed policy through a masters degree like an MEd or MPP. My understanding is that it's a pretty competitive space, but most of the top schools have good networks that certainly help. It's also a bit of a strange academic space in that a significant portion of the most useful and innovative work is being done by people with degrees in economics, public policy, and the like, not education. (Fun exercise: compare the most recent work by people in the top 5 US News Ed Policy programs with the education stuff on NBER.)

23 minutes ago, SummoningSquare said:

Generally, an EdD is for professionals (administrators, principals, directors, etc.) who want a terminal credential but not a research career. A PhD is a research degree for people with research backgrounds who want a research career.