MFA 2022 (Post-COVID Era) Freak Out Forum

SocialKonstruct

52 minutes ago, Strawberrycat said:

Hope you've been well! Are you still planning to apply for 2023? 

Definitely doing well and yes still applying in the fall of next year. Super excited as one of my friends enters Yale sculpture this fall. And how about you? Did you select a place finally? :)

edit: @SocialKonstruct , oops, thought I quoted you.

That's good to hear. That's awesome!! Big congrats to your friend!

Haha, I have not yet, unfortunately. I got some offers last year, but in the end it didn't work out at any of them for either financial or fit reasons. So I'm working on my list still and trying to both widen my net, but also look more critically at where I apply. I'm keeping my eye out for online open houses and info sessions because I missed a lot of them last year, and reading through past threads! 

Edited by Strawberrycat

I have a question, if anyone has insight. I'm a painter, but I do curatorial work in part to support myself financially. Do you think curatorial projects and/or published writing on my CV would be viewed (1) neutrally, (2) favorably, (3) unfavorably, when applying to painting MFA programs?

Edited by 123123435

5 hours ago, 123123435 said:

I have a question, if anyone has insight. I'm a painter, but I do curatorial work in part to support myself financially. Do you think curatorial projects and/or published writing on my CV would be viewed (1) neutrally, (2) favorably, (3) unfavorably, when applying to painting MFA programs?

I think both would likely be viewed favorably! If you can look at the websites of the current students or recent alumni from some places you're interested in, I'd check out their CVs for some insight too. 

21 hours ago, Strawberrycat said:

edit: @SocialKonstruct , oops, thought I quoted you.

That's good to hear. That's awesome!! Big congrats to your friend!