(Canada 2022) MPP/MPA Applications

Hey everyone!

My name is Mackenzie and I am the president of the School of Public Policy and Administration (SPPA) Student Society at Carleton University. I'm a current Carleton MPPA student and am happy to answer as many questions as you have about the application process, funding, co-ops, student life, work-life balance, opportunities, etc at Carleton.

Even if you're not thinking of Carleton in your decision, I hope this forum can be a good resource for prospective students to connect and support one another!

Best of luck - y'all got this!!

Mackenzie M.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Mackenzie! 

Thanks for starting this thread. I have a few questions:

1. How has your experience been thus far? 
  2. Do you think scores alone will form the majority of the decision for admission? Example: If a competitive average is 78%, but one gets 90% or close to 4.00, is it as clear cut as that?
  3. Since you've been accepted, could you provide some data as to what sort of profiles are accepted (With respect to your cohort)?

Thanks!

On 11/21/2021 at 8:22 AM, Joseph_Eze said:

Hi Mackenzie! 

Thanks for starting this thread. I have a few questions:

2. Do you think scores alone will form the majority of the decision for admission? Example: If a competitive average is 78%, but one gets 90% or close to 4.00, is it as clear cut as that?
  3. Since you've been accepted, could you provide some data as to what sort of profiles are accepted (With respect to your cohort)?

Thanks!

Not Mackenzie, but I can answer the same questions.

Mixed, but mostly positive. Some courses are rough, some are average, some are amazing. Most professors were lovely. 

GPA matters, anyone who says otherwise is lying to you. Is it the sole admission factor? No. Does it play a big role? Yes. It plays an even bigger role for funding decisions.