Ed.D or Psychology PhD

eia

Good day fellow graduate school pals! 

This will be a lengthy one and lots and lots of questions, strap in!

I am on a crossroad when it comes to the future of what I want with my grad school studies.  I am a Special Education teacher from the SE Asia, and I'm currently taking up MA Developmental Psychology here in my home country.

My experience is more based on the classroom, yet I personally feel that I won't be an educator forever, due to so many circumstances (pre-service teaching nightmares, CoVid, personal issues and what not) and I'm gearing towards Psychology, and I feel I am more comfortable in the field. I don't like administration too much.

And now the problem is, applying to US PhD programs. My CV will say that I work in the classroom, and can that affect my chances on having a PhD there that is not directly related to education? The thought reeling in my head is two pathways:

1. Use my bachelor's work experience:  Bachelor's: Special Education (Elem) -> Master of Arts: Developmental Psych -> Ed.D (in Educational Psychology???)
  2. Drop it all and find relative work related to Developmental Psychology being a lab assistant or something.

In line to pathway 2, where can I have an idea of openings for lab assistants for Psychology graduates with a MA degree as a qualification? I worry most labs would want a PhD fellow to be with their labs. 

(This was posted on the Education forum too)

Whew, if you read up until this point, 

Thank you, will be eagerly awaiting your responses. 

Hi! :)

I am not sure I fully understand what you want to do in the future. But I will try my best to give you some possibilities: