Law Student interested in Psych PhD Programs. Please help me!!!

Hi Everyone,

URM (Black); First Generation Student; Incarcerated Parent  

I have a B.A. in Sociology from a large state school. I graduated with a 4.0 and was valedictorian in the Social and Behavioral Sciences Department. During my junior and senior year, I worked as research assistant for two different Sociology professors. As a requirement for the Honors Program, I also had to write an original thesis. 

I spent almost two years working in juvenile court before I went to law school. I was responsible for managing a caseload of 35 court involved youth. Some of my job duties entailed counseling youth, referring them to appropriate mental health services, and providing recommendations to the court. 

I graduate from a top 10 law school in May. While in law school, I have published in an academic law journal, received a writing award for a paper I wrote while taking a class in the Sociology Department, served in student government,  and interned at two premier law firms. (I have done other "less noteworthy" things like work as a grader in the Sociology Department, performed pro bono work, and participated in affinity groups). 

My recommenders will be a notable law professor and two sociologist. I have not taken the GRE yet, but I am sure my math section will not be strong. 

While I do not have a formal background in Psychology, Psychology is the sister discipline to Sociology. I also have a lot of experience working intimately with people who have been impacted by the criminal legal system (while at juvenile court) and "counseling" them.  Would I be a strong candidate for schools like Harvard, Yale, Columbia, Princeton? etc. (It is important for me to remain on the east coast due to family ties). 

Open to any suggestions/feedback 

Thank you for your help!!!!!!