Apartment application

joro

I saw an apartment I'd like to see, but the person I emailed requires that I answer a bunch of questions for "screening" purposes before I'm shown the place. He wants my last 4 digits of my ssn, driver's license number, and last 4 digits of my bank account. Is this normal? :mellow:

I'm new to the American housing market but I've rented in different cities in other countries and have never been asked for anything equivalent to that kind of information.

Do you know what the landlord plans to do with this info?

I'm in the same situation. A friend of mine told me that sometimes your checking account number is used to look at your credit...I don't know anything about the other information though.

I saw an apartment I'd like to see, but the person I emailed requires that I answer a bunch of questions for "screening" purposes before I'm shown the place. He wants my last 4 digits of my ssn, driver's license number, and last 4 digits of my bank account. Is this normal? :mellow:

Sounds like a scam, stay away!

Or, so anal that they won't rent to grad students, anyway...

Don't do it! I ran into one like that too. She emailed me and said she would need to run a credit check before she could show me the place. I emailed back and told her I wasn't comfortable with that and could we do something else and I never heard back

Thanks, I guess I will not be getting this place. I have other apartments I'm interested in though. Any tips on what else to look out for?

Thanks, I guess I will not be getting this place. I have other apartments I'm interested in though. Any tips on what else to look out for?

I would send an e-mail asking why they want the info and/or whether their are any other options. The checking info is weird..., but I would ask, if you have seen the place in person and really like it.