Major DON'T in the interview proccess?

Susieq22

Hi!

I'm currently a senior in Undergrad, and will be applying to psychology graduate programs within the next year. I'm wondering any 'don'ts' for the interview process (in-person, online or phone call). Feel free to share any horror stories or just helpful tips. Thanks so much! 

Just be prepared to talk about what your research interests are, career goals, and reasons you are attracted to that program. There may also be chances to interact with other prospective students and also current students. Make sure you are personable and yourself. If you get to the interview stage, it's because you're a qualified candidate. The interview is largely to assess if you're someone they would like to work with for the next 4-6 years. Make sure to have lots of questions prepared for faculty and current students, as a lot of the interview time is spent on them answering your questions. The whole idea is to assess fit for you, the faculty mentor, and the program as a whole. 

I will echo @PsyDuck90 - the important (and more difficult) part is getting to the interview. The "don'ts" are pretty typical of any interview - try to listen to others, be personable, avoid contradictory discussions (unless that is encouraged or a safe space), don't go overboard in showing off/ drinking too much alcohol during social events, etc. This guide may help: https://mitch.web.unc.edu/wp-content/uploads/sites/4922/2017/02/MitchGradSchoolAdvice.pdf Altough it's targeted at clinical psych (and I'm not sure if that's relevant for you) it still has valuable advice and examples for interviews and writing research statements.