Few questions

Hello,

I have completed my SOP but I am still unsure about a few things:

For one, I haven’t mentioned that with which professor I would like to work and why. I have mentioned the research I would like to pursue and what I would like to do but I haven’t specifically named any professor because I read somewhere that there is no need to get specific because what if that professor is leaving etc etc

Also, I have almost two years of professional experience and no teaching experience, is it a bad thing or a good thing?

Also it would be really helpful if anyone would be willing to go over my SOP and give suggestions as I don’t have anyone around me to help me out with the critique

Regards

For one, I haven’t mentioned that with which professor I would like to work and why. I have mentioned the research I would like to pursue and what I would like to do but I haven’t specifically named any professor because I read somewhere that there is no need to get specific because what if that professor is leaving etc etc

Regards

First, it depends a lot on your field of study. I have recently found out that those applying to PhD programs in English must not try to contact professors. On the other hand, if you are in sciences, you are strongly recommended to do so.

Second, that is exactly why you should contact professors - to learn if they are leaving the year you hope to enroll! If they are - just do not apply to this school, you will save time and money.

Hey speed,