Transferring to program I turned down?

Anonymous Coward

Hi there,

I'm currently a 1-st year PhD student. I was very lucky to get into all three of the schools I applied to last year.

School A was my original dream school, or so I thought. I had been planning on applying since junior year of college...there were just so many people there whose research touched on what I thought were really interesting topics. The diversity of work here on so many themes touching on my research tangentially was mind-blowing.

School B was where the guy who literally (co-)wrote the book that founded the discipline I want to get into worked.

School C was home to a rigourous program with an intermediate number of people whose work was more relevant to my own. A very senior researcher in my field and an up-and-coming young professor were ready to take me under their wing on a joint project.

In the end, I ended up choosing School A--people told me to go with my original feeling. To be honest, I wanted a change of climate and scenery, and considering I was having so much trouble deciding among the three schools (because they all seemed so good), I thought the weather would be the tie-breaker.

I have now realized that there are several obstacles here that will slow my progress toward my PhD. For one, the funding climate is worse than I thought. In order to work summer funding, I'll basically be TA'ing full time, leaving little time for research. The teaching course is pretty onerous now, too, while at School C I would've taught only one third as often. For some reason I thought grad school was about taking classes, when it's more about research (even in the first year!). Regardless, the teaching load is getting in the way of both.