Mr, Dr. and Prof.

Hi,

I am an international student currently working on my PhD application. I am a little confused with the way we are supposed to refer to the professors we mention as potential advisors.

1 / If the person is a man, PhD: Do we have to use Mr. Brown ? Dr. Brown ? Prof. Brown ?

2 / What if it is a woman PhD: Mrs Brown? Dr. Brown ? Prof Brown ?

3 / What is he/she is an assistant professor: Mr Brown ? Dr. Brown ? Assistant Prof. Brown ? Prof Brown ?

Thank you very much for your help !

Nats

Never use Mr or Ms or Mrs if the person has a PhD. You could generally use Dr. or Prof (if they are an assistant prof or professor).

So to answer your questions:

1 / If the person is a man, PhD: Do we have to use Mr. Brown ? Dr. Brown ? Prof. Brown ?

3 / What is he/she is an assistant professor: Mr Brown ? Dr. Brown ? Assistant Prof. Brown ? Prof Brown ?

1) Dr. or Prof. is acceptable.

2) Dr. or Prof. is acceptable, it doesn't make any difference if the person is male or female.

3) Dr. or Prof. is acceptable. I've never seen someone addressed as Assistant Prof.

Edited by newms

I am using Dr. XXX though Professor XXX would also be acceptable. It is the most formal title and therefore most appropriate for the formal application I believe. Mr. and Mrs. (or Ms.) are incorrect titles for people who have doctorates. Even on things as removed from academia as family wedding invitations they would be addressed something like: Dr. and Mr(s). XXX (presuming they share a last name).

In email, I start with Dr. XXX but when a professor signs their response with their first name I will use that in any further less formal exchanges.

Hope that helps!

Hi,

I am an international student currently working on my PhD application. I am a little confused with the way we are supposed to refer to the professors we mention as potential advisors.

Thank you very much for your help !

Nats