Questions about being a TA

robot_hamster

I was talking about this TA position on here and it looks like things will probably work out. But now something else has just occurred to me. I have never been a TA before and I am terrified! I think I will be okay doing the lab sections for the one class, but the other class is in an area that I know nothing about. Plus I don't know what I will be doing for that class, so it is pretty scary for me. I was wondering what other people's experiences have been. Do professors generally expect that you're going to be dumb your first time being a TA? I'm worried because obviously I want to do a good job so I will be recommended for other things in the future. Also, how do you handle students? Especially when you don't know the answer! I tend to be a bit emotional about things, I blame it on hormones since I have an imbalance. I'm afraid that I will burst out crying or something if someone yells at me. I mean, I cry at the commercials on TV that show all the pictures of neglected animals.