Composition and Rhetoric -- Really a Growing Field?

I am a newbie here having read, rather extensively, every conceivable thread about Composition and Rhetoric – a field that I believe I am passionate about (although, from what I have read, the definition of “passion” is a different game in grad school than it is in undergraduate school). I am getting a lot of mixed signals, specifically that the field of humanities is a dead zone of jobs, but the specific discipline of Composition and Rhetoric is growing. For the latter, I feel that I am being overly optimistic about going into Comp/Rhet since it is a growing job market – in a tiny, shrinking one (Humanities/English). I am wondering if I should go and get my Ph.D – a thought that has been burning in mind these past few years – or if I should realistically just give up the dream.

About myself: I am two years out of undergraduate school, a graduate of a top university with decent grades (3.89 – I am the child of millennial inflation…), wrote an English Honors thesis (a creative writing piece that doubled as a “craft study”), won a few departmental awards here and there (but nothing too big) and am really good friends with the Director of Writing, the Director of the Writing Center, and the Department Director (let’s just say I’ve been in all of their cars and have had conversations on speed dating, life, etc. – things that I fondly look back on). It had a wonderful time in my English department and think of it often.