Computer Science Fall 2011 Admits

newms

Now that the first Computer Science Fall 2011 admit has been added to the GradCafe's survey (Congrats to whoever got into UIUC today!) I thought it would be good to have a thread where we can help each other decide which would be a good place to go to (fingers crossed that we get multiple admits).

I'm presently an undergrad at UIUC and had gotten an early admit notice from them back in September but today I received official notification along with funding information. Full tuition and partial fee waiver + insurance + 25k stipend + 5k CS Excellence Fellowship for a year

I'm working in data mining and specifically information/social networks. I've also applied to CMU, Stanford, MIT's media lab, Cornell, and Penn

Stats: 4.0 / 800Q / 640V / 5.5 A / Couple of years research 1 journal publication, 2 conference publications under review, and 1 conference demo in prep -- all as coauthors

Edited by barber5

Stats: 4.0 / 800Q / 640V / 5.5 A / Couple of years research 1 journal publication, 2 conference publications under review, and 1 conference demo in prep -- all as coauthors

Is the first number in your stat your UG GPA? You got a perfect 4.0 in CS from UIUC???!! Arghhhhhhhh... you are supposed to screw up your freshman yearrrrrr!! What happened to that???

argghghghghghhgh!%%$$!!!!!!

Sorry, I'm just jealous XD. Congrats!!!

shashakoe, it might not last this final semester: this will be the semester of taking classes I didn't want to take and have put off.

scyrus, congrats. From your signature it looks like you're in HCI? Which groups did you apply to at the Media Lab?

newms, No word yet on anything like visiting.

scyrus, congrats. From your signature it looks like you're in HCI? Which groups did you apply to at the Media Lab?

Congrats yourself. Yes, I'm in HCI, (with some security and AI collaborative interests). I applied to Fluid Interfaces, Human Dynamics and Information Ecology. You?

Edited by scyrus