2024 Application Thread

dr. t

• dr. t pinned this topic
  • 2 weeks later...

Hello.

I am an international student and got accepted with funding to a masters program in a Canadian university. The program starts in September 2023 and its duration is expected to be two years. I plan to apply to a PhD in the USA after that.

When would it be the ideal time to apply to a PhD program? The end of 2024 or the end of 2025?

My worry: if I apply only by the end of 2025 (which is the end of the MA itself) and got and offer to a PhD, I will need to wait untill the Fall of 2026 to start the course, without funding and doing I don't know what to survive. So I was wondering if is it possible to apply by the end of 2024, in order to start the PhD right after finishing the masters.

Thank You

• 2 months later...
On 6/29/2023 at 10:36 AM, JohnNobody said:

My worry: if I apply only by the end of 2025 (which is the end of the MA itself) and got and offer to a PhD,

@JohnNobody

If it's a two year program, then it ends in the spring of 2025. You apply in the fall of 2024 when the applications open. You will get the results sometime in the spring of 2025. If admitted, you will start in the fall of 2025. In that case, there won't be a break in you funding, except the summer of 2025, but hopefully that's something you can plan ahead for.

Also, congrats on the funded MA!

• 1 month later...

Anybody thinking about prioritizing schools with a digital emphasis? I want to get a phd and am thinking that would expand career opportunities outside of academia.

• 1 month later...

As per the Brown interview information shared in the results section, is it possible for me and other fellow applicants to learn more about it if the original user is also in this forum? Admittedly it is quite a bummer for me that I haven't heard anything from Brown until now. Expecting this cycle could be a tough one as well...

On 12/16/2023 at 5:24 AM, yagiz said: