It's Saturday and I am staying home so I can check my email.

Bonkers

How far have I taken the insanity?

(1) Today: it is Saturday and I am staying home so I can keep an eye on my email account.

(2) The other day, after walking home from work, I really had to pee, but decided to check my email account while squirming. Almost wet myself all for nothing but a coupon from Snapfish.com.

(3) I regularly re-read the two acceptance letters I have received so far just to make sure I was not imagining my acceptances the first twenty times I read them.

(4) I dreamt that I was accepted into Yale, but when I went to thank the adcoms personally, I was in Turkey and topless.

(5) I took the GREs in November... but I am still studying for it... without any intentions of retaking them. Seriously. What is wrong with me?

Your turn.

1. I've actually scheduled work and research around spending hours checking school websites and email (and half-heartedly attempting to justify this by listening to NPR programs to "catch up with the news").

2. I also call my family 3-4 times a day to see if they've gotten anything in the mail.

3. I spent 3 hours last night doing various searches on the results page for when folks in the programs to which I applied got their notices in previous years.

I added internet onto my cell so I can check my personal email @ work. I check like every 10 minutes. I can access my school email from work, so I just leave it on the screen. If I'm not home by the time the mail comes, I call my 'rents to see if anything came. I can't even sleep well lately because I'm dying for something to come. I had a dream a few nights ago about being rejected from a school that I didn't apply to (?) but then I had a dream I was accepted to my top choice, but then someone called my cell phone and it woke me up. Grrr.