Laziness and loss of drive

Thales

I came into graduate school expecting to feel motivated, to work, and to feel satisfied with my work. I'm presently an MA student at a top Canadian research university. I generally like my program, my advisor, and the professors with whom I have had contact. I am also very comfortable at the university (which was also my undergraduate alma mater), and etc. In toher words, everything is great about my department, program, and institution.

I worked hard in my first term and did quite well. I have two classes this semester (rather than four) and am expected to complete a Master's thesis by the end of August. Now, however, I'm finding that I am not motivated to do more than the bare minimum. I've barely yet to begin working on my thesis, and I'm finding that it takes me several times longer than usual to complete my course work. I find that I am easily distracted and there is never enough time to begin with my thesis work.

Is this normal?

Edited by Thales

I think it's normal, or at least common. I had a similar experience during my MA program (also at a Canadian university). Not so much with my coursework, which was all completed by the end of my first year, but working on my thesis, there were many times when I was simply bored and unmotivated to do any more on what seemed like something I could never finish. I ended up finishing and submitting it much later than I had originally wanted, such that my MA took more than two years to finish.

Grad school is hard. We were advised not to take more than three courses; taking four would have taken a lot out of you. I'd also suggest that you not put artificial deadlines on yourself, if that's what this is. You need to let the work happen in its own time.

Thank you for the reply.