Anyone else miss being in school?

storiaitaliana

I graduated this past summer, attended an MA program this Fall that turned out to be wrong for me, and now I am just here....waiting. I really miss being at school, having an inspiring purpose, being around and interacting with people who are learning, etc. etc. But I know I have to wait until the end of August anyway, even if I get into the places I've applied to, so...grrrr. At least it will feel better to know where I will be going and that I will be getting back to the life I want to have for myself. I'm also home sick today, so I am especially bored and wishing I had something engaging to do!

While I certainly do miss the intellectual stimulation of the grad-school environment and even though I would prefer to spend my days in that milieu, I actually really enjoy my 3-year-long "day job" (I've been teaching while my wife does her masters, just like she did while I did mine). I teach music in a public middle and high school, and it's a wonderful community, a great group of students, and some really wonderful music-making going on!

Also, during this exasperating waiting season, it really does help the time pass...

I'm in the same place, except I've been out of school for almost six years, working in an occupation that, at least for me, has been completely unsatisfying. Of course I started looking at doctoral programs right after I graduated, but for a number of reasons decided that I needed to make some (real) money instead. But I'm happy knowing I'll (hopefully) be back on course this fall. Can't wait to be in an academic environment again.