I graduated from the University of Georgia in May with a degree in Linguistics/Theatre. Last year, I tried to apply for speech pathology without any prerequisites (except linguistics courses) and got rejected from all seven schools I applied to >.<

Now, I'm taking prereqs through the online program at Longwood, and my post-bac GPA is 3.8-3.9ish. By the end of the spring, I'll have courses in phonology, syntax, semantics, and morphology (through my Bachelor's degree) as well as Intro to CSD, Anatomy and Physiology of Speech and Hearing, Language Development, Intro to Audiology, Language Disorders, Speech Science, and Neurology of Communication.

I'm trying again this time around, and my list can be seen in my signature (I'm only applying to one that I applied to last year). My stats can also be found there. (My AW score on the GRE was 4.5, but I got a 5.5 when I took it last year. Do they combine scores?)

Besides academics, I had a summer internship at a surgical implantable company where I dealt with insurance claims and HIPAA, and now I work as a support companion with two women with autism who live in their own homes (mostly behavioral stuff, and I've dealt with a lot of state paperwork and ISPs). In my essays, I mention that during my full-time internship I was also taking 9 hours of classes.

I'm getting recommendations from an online SLP professor I had twice (who also practices), a theatre professor I know really well and basically took a grad level class with (and who is the head of the department), a linguistics TA I've had for two classes as well as been in a class with him as a student, and my coordinator for my companion job (one of the teachers couldn't meet the CSDCAS deadline in time...)

Do you think eleven schools is enough? (I'm a little gun-shy after last time.) Did I pick enough "safe" ones? Does anyone have experience applying to and being accepted/rejected from my schools? Anything to ease this wait would be wonderful!

• 2 weeks later...