Recruitment Weekends: What's the deal? And, more importantly, what does one wear?!

Okey-doke: So I'm an utter newb at this whole Grad School cult(ure) thing. I've been invited to two Open House/Recruitment Weekend/Admitted Students Day-type thingies (from schools that have both made offers to me), and am seeking advice on what to expect, what sort of questions I should ask while there, and (shallow being that I am) what the frak should I wear?!?! I'm typically a chucks, jeans, and a baggy tank kinda gal.....but something tells me that this garb might not be appropriate for this purpose. I know they can't revoke my admit decision because I look like a schlub, but I figure (OK, let's be honest....I didn't "figure" anything....my more socially-functional friends have told me. In no uncertain terms) that I should try to look "professional" when I go on these trips.

So.....what does "professional" mean, in this context? Do I need heels? A jacket/blazer thingy? Or should I just say "screw it" and show up looking like I actually look, in ripped jeans and a ball cap, so that I feel comfortable and not like I'm playing in Big Sis's closet? It's not like they're not potentially going to see me in my *ahem* natural habit every day for the next 6+ years......

tl;dr: HELP! Tell me what to expect during "Recruitment Weekend". :)

I haven't been on one of these (yet -- my first is this weekend), so take my advice with a grain of salt.

It seems like the best bet is to dress up nice, but don't wander way out of your comfort zone. I am usually a VERY casual dresser (jeans, T-shirt and sneakers FTW) but I'll stick with some black leather-looking shoes, some actual pants and a button down. In your case, some non-ripped pants or some kind of skirt-like contraption with a sweater or cardigan (that's a thing, right?) will probably serve you well.