Help make my decision (or completely confuse me)!

obrera

Help make my decision (or completely confuse me)  

50 members have voted

1. 1. Which school should I attend?

• School A
    • School B

Hello everyone,

I have been accepted into two programs, both of which are excellent. Both programs are for an English Lit MA, and both are at Canadian schools (I am a Canadian student). I would like some help choosing which program to attend.

School A

• one of the top schools in Canada
  • well-known (so I could apply out-of-country for a PhD)
  • farther from family, but partner is moving there for school as well
  • would be sharing housing with partner (cheaper)
  • would be sharing moving costs with partner (gas, accommodations)
  • funding consists of half TAships (marking only, no teaching) and half fellowships
  • 10 month program (course based), no project at the end
  • 4 courses in Fall, 3 in Winter, one in Spring (two of the Fall courses are pass/fail pedagogy courses)
  • I would be able to transfer my current job to this city and work a few shifts every so often to earn some extra money to limit debt

School B
    • well-known for excellence but not internationally
    • smaller school, but same size English departments
    • much closer to family, but partner will not move there with me
    • would be renting alone (couple hundred more dollars per month, at least)
    • would be taking on moving costs alone, but is closer
    • funding consists entirely of TAships (heavier workload, but actual teaching experience)
    • they have offered to top my funding from School A and offer me a moving subsidy (not sure how much)
    • I would not be able to transfer my current job there, since I would not have much spare time to work
    • 12 month program (course based), project at end (30 pages)
    • 3 courses in Fall, 3 in Spring, 2 in Summer with project completed by end of summer (one course in both Fall and Spring is pass/fail pedagogy course)

Both Schools