Unforgettable student

stell4

During my undergrad I was the shy quiet student in the back and did not make very many connections. I luckily made a couple good ones with professors who remembered me enough after 4 years to write my LORs. This time around I want to make more connections and be one of the students who puts themselves out there more. When speaking with various professors many mentioned some of their students and their work. I could notice the prof speaking with different levels of enthusiasm for different students. I want to be one of the students that profs will know something about and speak with enthusiasm about,

As a high school teacher I find the students who ask questions during class and stop by to ask for help now and then before school are the students that get an extra gold star in my book regardless of if they have good or poor grades. I think for high school kids it's something to see them put in the extra effort. I make great connections with these kids and would be able to remember them and write great recommendations for them in the future, while the silent kid in the back with a 105% may not ring a bell for me the following year.

I definitely plan to follow my students example and ask questions in class as well as stop by for office hours with questions. Does anyone have other suggestions a still somewhat shy awkward student can push themselves to do in grad school?

See while I agree in principle, in my department office hour visits are not particularly appreciated. Professors are very busy so there is a need to balance the desire to present an engaged image versus downplaying a "needy" image. More than office hours, I suggest actively contributing to class discussions in a constructive manner. More than anything else, seminar discussion seems to be where students distinguish themselves early in grad school.

Edited by IRdreams