Fairly new to research

MKarmoose

Hello all,

I'm sorry if there is some sort of redundancy in this topic!

I'm fairly new to research. I recently joined a research group in Cognitive Radio Networks (I'm an Electrical Engineering grad student). I was asked to get familiar with the topics at first, and I started reading a lot. I have a very good background about the topic now from a very broad perspective. But now I need to find myself a good research point, and this I don't know how to do. I got me some more specific subtopic under the large umbrella of Cognitive Radio Networks which I found to be appealing to me, and I started reading papers that tackles this point in specific, and now I'm stuck at this phase. So my questions now are:

1- When do I stop reading? I've reading for two weeks now with a total of 15 papers or so, all regarding this subtopic I've chosen. Is this enough?

2- How do I get research ideas? I always try to question the work in each of the papers I read, but then I don't actually come up with something very valuable.

3- One thing I'm trying to do is to make a tree of the current work in the topic I'm investigating. This can help me find some sort of gaps in the field which can eventually highlight some opportunities for research. However, this tree requires much much more reading and investigating, which again brings us to the first question.

Thanks