19th c european art

loubun85

Hi everyone,

I'm applying to programs with an interest in 19th century European art (specifically French and German). I've narrowed my list of schools down to the following, but was wondering if anyone had any other suggestions?

UChicago: Martha Ward

Northwestern: Hollis Clayson

Duke: Patricia Leighten

Chapel Hill: Mary Sheriff

CUNY: Patricia Mainardi

IFA-NYU: Linda Nochlin

Stanford: Michael Marrinan

I majored in Art History in UG, and wrote my thesis on a painting by Manet. Since graduating I have been been working at a prominent art gallery (5 years now)...Not sure how much this will hurt my chances.

Any advice is much appreciated! Thank you!

Working at an art gallery is an advantage, I would think. When we do admissions in my Department we are always interested in people who have worked in the field (which for yours would be an art gallery, for us it would be a museum or tv production or newspaper or archive) and thus will have lots of life experience and insight that will produce a more clever thesis (potentially) since you've lived a bit. In fact, if there is a way to incorporate your work at the gallery into the story you tell in your statement of intent in your application, do so. It will make you and your personality stand out. Broadly speaking, admission committees like to admit students that seem like interesting people who will enhance the intellectual culture of the department.

All the schools you've listed are obviously excellent. I would note though: it's a good idea to apply to programs where you'd have more than one potential supervisor, just in case the one you've chosen to work with becomes ill, moves to another school, drives you crazy... or your research interests change and you just need a different supervisory expertise.

Best of luck with those apps. I love Linda Nochlin's work...

On that list should probably also be:

University of Michigan: Susan Siegfried/Howard Lay

UC Berkeley: Darcy Grigsby